top of page
  • abrasumagazine

"An Out of This World Love Story" by Josh Ceniza

A Message from Abrasu Magazine:
We’re expanding our team yet again! Today, we introduce you to Josh Ceniza, a 17-year-old who only recently began writing micro flash fiction. His stories are usually 200-300 words long, and we’ve presented one here on our site.
 

"An Out of This World Love Story"
By Josh Ceniza

Dear Pa,

I don’t care what you say anymore. I’m in love with Rheta, and there’s absolutely nothing you can do to stop me from courting her.

I know you want me to pursue Helia, but if I’m being honest, she’s far too self-absorbed for me. Sure, she’s bright, but she constantly acts like everything centers around her. Plus, she flares up at even the smallest of inconveniences!

Pa, I want someone grounded, and you can’t blame me if Rheta happens to be just that and more. She’s exactly what I’ve been looking for—not too hot-headed but not too cold-hearted either. Next to her, I feel like I’m floating, like I’m so much more than my cratered skin and bones.

I know you only want the best for me, Pa. Heck, you’ve spent billions to send twelve of the world’s best bodyguards to my care. But, it’s finally time I start thinking for myself now that I’m 4.425 billion years old.

Till the day Rheta’s blue skin and seven green freckles are no more, I’ll continue loving her. I’ll circle her like she’s the center of my universe, no matter my phase.

Love always,
Apollo, your favorite son

 

Born and raised in the Philippines, Josh Ceniza is a fledgling flash fiction writer. He only began writing during quarantine but quickly developed a love (and appreciation) for it. His work has been published in small literary presses through a number of aliases. Josh Ceniza may be his real name, may also not be.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page